Fabric / CF skinning

Kia ora, People of FreeSK8.

Here is my tutorial for skinning a deck.

Disclaimers:

Health & safety

Epoxy, carbon fibre and other materials you might use doing this can be nasty if you don’t treat them right. Try not to eat, drink or breathe them or rub them on your body, as you will not have a good time.

[SERIOUS - take correct PPE and H&S precautions - get the right gear and use it always - safety first.]

I’m not going to tell you what those precautions should be - if you’re doing this sort of stuff you need to be smart enough to find out about it and make your own decisions on it. Take it seriously.

Method and results

There’s plenty of ways to skin a cat, so if you have a different or better method for this, please do share it! I am not an expert at this and learnt from a bunch of other muppets on the internet, who probably don’t know what they’re doing either… But it would be great to document the knowledge we do have within the community, so here we go.

Likewise, the results from the few times I have done this are pretty good, but not perfect. It’s DIY, and learning takes time so take it easy on yourself in terms of expectations.

What you will need:

Deck

I used a Loaded Tesseract that I had previously chopped the front off, cause I liked the looked of the cantellated version.

Fabric

I bought some polyester fabric from AliExpress, which had a nice bright colour and a pattern.

NZ$ 5.54 29% Off | Photography Backdrops Unique 3D Black Wall Wallpaper Home Decor Pattern Photography Backgrounds For Photo Studio
https://a.aliexpress.com/_mOqEP8L

Smooth fabrics, without loose fibres, seem the best. I think satin type fabrics are probably ideal.

Cotton and linen and those types of fibrous fabrics will be tough, as the fibres tend to lift in the wet epoxy and, because of that, are they are hard to get a good finish with.