Tomiboi's shop and random projects

Hey guys! Most of you know me as tomiboi. Some of you know me as Thom. I wanted to put together a shop thread with some of my random projects. Here it goes.

Tomiboiesk8 is a crusty old skateboarder and his two dogs hanging out in a detached two-car garage making skateboards. I get a laugh when prospective customers contact me and ask questions as though I have a warehouse and staff. I wish. The reality is far smaller, less sophisticated and certainly more depraved. :crazy_face:

I worked as a chef for almost two decades and started making skateboards about seven years ago as a hobby. I was getting into woodworking and when I started looking at projects, there were things like birdhouses and end-tables and such. Which is cool and all, but then I stumbled upon homemade skateboards and it was on. Skate-making became an obsession. :skateboard:

It just so happened that ESK8 and technology like the VESC were really getting off the ground around that time as well. It seemed like the ultimate toy to me. Making ESK8s was a logical progression.

I made three-wheelers for a while and then got into making skateboards specifically for ESK8. It’s not making me rich, but I like being my own boss and kickin’ it with my dogs all day, so it’s working out.

Anyhow, here’s some pics of the shop. I’ve got some cool toys and last year I put in some windows, a skylight, a heater and a cooler. This means that I can work naked year-round now and my neighbors can see. :stuck_out_tongue_winking_eye:

I have a CNC table router that has been serving me well as well as two vacuum bagging systems. I’ve been using Vacu-press pumps with heavyweight bags and I’ve really liked the results.

Here’s my mold collection and drop-deck rig.

I do all the shaping and sanding in my backyard with help from my assistants.